TABC Certification - Texas Alcohol Seller-Server Trainingn
24×7 Support: (877) 881-2235 | Contact Us
Group Discounts | Shopping Cart | Student Login

Texas Alcohol Laws

Texas has a complicated web of state and county alcohol laws. Knowing which specific laws and regulations pertain to your establishment, reduces your liability.

Alcohol Delivery
SB 1232 allows restaurants, bars or businesses with a mixed beverage permit to deliver alcohol with food to homes or other off-premises locations.

Only people 21 years old and older can deliver food with alcohol. And customers who order alcohol with food must be 21, show valid ID and sign receipts upon accepting deliveries.

Media Credit: Shutterstock

Texas General Liquor Rules

  • You must be 21-years-old to legally drink in the state of Texas. This is also the age requirement for many drinking establishments in Austin.
  • Liquor can only be bought from specific liquor stores. Grocery stores, drug stores, convenience stores, etc. DO NOT sell liquor, only beer and wine. Liquor stores are open Monday-Saturday from 10am-9pm; note: all liquor stores are closed on Sunday.
  • Stores cannot sell alcohol on Sundays unless under 17 ABV. Beer and wine can be purchased in stores between 12pm and 12am. Most Austin drinking establishments (bars, restaurants, venues, clubs, etc.) can serve all types of alcohol between 12pm-2am on Sundays; alcohol may be purchased from drinking establishments in conjunction with food starting at 10am on Sundays.
  • You cannot buy alcohol after 2am at drinking establishments including venues, bars, and clubs.
  • Consumption of alcohol outside of drinking establishments (for example, in the middle of 6th St.) is prohibited.
TABC Certification Training TABC Certification - 10% OFF SALE
  • Employees who obtain TABC Certification - Texas alcohol seller-server training - are able to prevent sales to minors, recognize signs of intoxication, and effectively intervene to prevent problem situations.
  • Texas TABC Approved Provider #454-508
  • 100% online - No Classroom Attendance
  • Enter Promo "train10off" at Checkout

Additional Info

For more information, visit these links:


  1. The government should not be able to dictate when and where we can buy, sell, or consume alcohol in private or in public. We are adults, not children of the state.

  2. Why on earth would the liquor laws laws be different depending on the day of the week? Liquor should be served on the same hours 7 days a week. Sunday should be no different than any other day. This is an obvious lack of separation of church and state! I live in California where guns are unfairly governed but liquor is treated fair. Is there no state where personnel freedom is still respected. Is there no state where my rights are not infringed upon by religious nuts or gun fearing wackos?

  3. Can a retail store delivery liquor to private homes within the legal hours?
    It can prevent DWI’S.

  4. The state of Texas is going to tell me what hours of operation are profitable? I thought freedom allows me to sell my products when I think it is profitable? Is that not free enterprise? Why can I go to Mexico and buy liquor at 2, 3, 4 AM and bring it back to Texas?

  5. I heard that if ur married and ur spouse is married it is legal to drink. At bars clubs restaurants ext… As long as u r with ur spouse is this true?

  6. how does the “legal” sales on saturdays work in Texas?
    Wich hours fall between 7am and 1am on the same day?

Comments are closed.